Photo Credit: Saxon

Photo Credit: Saxon

New Wave of British Heavy Metal icons Saxon have prepared ten new hard hitting compositions for their new studio album, ‘Battering Ram.’ Due for release on October 16, the upcoming Saxon release embodies the vicious edge of the band’s earlier efforts.

“This one’s a natural progression from [2013’s] ‘Sacrifice,’” says lead vocalist Bill Byford. “There’s a bit less rock’n’roll and a bit more ‘heavy’ on it. We wanted to keep focused on a style rather than moving around too much.”

With ‘Battering Ram,’ the members of Saxon address a variety of topics that range from the intensity of their fans on the title track to folklore on “The Devil’s Footprint,” a myth about a village waking up from a winter snowfall to find mysterious, explainable tracks.

“When I’m writing lyrics I like to switch back and forth between complex things, reality and rock’n’roll.” says Byford. “I thought the whole folklore behind ‘The Devil’s Footprint’ made it great material for a metal song, being that it’s both historic and mythical.

“With ‘Queen of Hearts’ I wanted to write something around Lewis Carroll’s ‘Alice In Wonderland,’ and it’s about the chess game that happens in the story. I wanted it to have prog-feeling in the way of its ambiance and mood. Then you have songs like ‘Destroyer’ and ‘Hard and Fast’ which are ‘80s inspired songs with that modern slant on it.

“I’m a big fan of Marvel comics, and I wanted to write a song around the character Destroyer, and with ‘Hard and Fast’ it’s as the title suggests, about driving fast! I do like to tie the lyric into the song, so if it’s going to be a song about driving fast, well, it has to be a fast, hard song!”

The recording sessions for Saxon’s ‘Battering Ram’ were overseen by producer Andy Sneap (Megadeth, Testament, Exodus, Accept) at his Backstage Recording Studios in Derbyshire. Byford notes that the addition of Sneap for the new album helped round out the vintage metal approach Saxon was aiming for with this upcoming installment.

“Yes, Andy has been in charge of everything with this album. I keep on overview of it all, but he’s done a great job and we’re both pleased with the results. We have a great partnership,” the frontman adds.

In coordination with the new album announcement, Saxon have also released the official music video for the title track “Battering Ram,” which can be found below.

Saxon, ‘Battering Ram’ Track Listing:

01. Battering Ram
02. The Devil’s Footprint
03. Queen of Hearts
04. Destroyer
05. Hard and Fast
06. Eye of the Storm
07. Stand Your Ground
08. Top of the World
09. To The End
10. Kingdom of the Cross



saxon battering ram album artwokr