Photo by Kevin Wiles Jr.

Photo by Kevin Wiles Jr.

After spending lengthy tenures with such groups as Night Ranger and Trans-Siberian Orchestra, current Whitesnake guitarist Joel Hoekstra is now piloting his own venture with Joel Hoekstra’s 13. This collective, which is scheduled to release their debut album ‘Dying to Live‘ this fall, is an all-star unit that Hoekstra will focus on outside of his commitments to TSO and Whitesnake while crafting striking melodic hard rock.

Although this is a solo project, Joel Hoekstra’s 13 does feature it’s fair share of recognizable rock talent. The lineup is rounded out by Jeff Scott Soto (Journey, Yngwie Malmsteen) and Russell Allen (Adrenaline Mob, Symphony X) on lead and backing vocals, drummer Vinny Appice (Black Sabbath, Dio) on drums and Tony Franklin (The Firm, Blue Murder) on bass. When you count the list of “special guest musicians,” the roster becomes all-the-more impressive.

The music itself on ‘Dying to Live’ is similarly consistent in it’s direction towards harmony-propelled refrains and a technical execution from all involved. The newly released video for “Until I Left You,” which features appearances from Soto and Appice, is no exception; this is an anthemic riff rocker that morphs the common feeling of heartbreak following a rough relationship into a vengeful and optimistic attitude.

“Years ago, I released three solo albums that were mainly instrumental guitar music. I wanted to put something out that showcased my production, writing and playing in the genre that I’m known for, which is melodic, hard rock,” Hoekstra previously explained. “That’s when I decided to start what I consider to be my rock side project, Joel Hoekstra’s 13.”

Joel Hoekstra’s 13 will release their debut album ‘Dying to Live’ on October 16 via Frontiers Srl.



Next: Joel Hoekstra Talks About Whitesnake’s ‘The Purple Album’ and His New Solo Project