Photo by Craig Simon

Photo by Craig Simon

The wait for Def Leppard‘s self-titled release is nearly over, and it seems as though the members of this veteran hard rock group have prepared their most assertive compilation of material in nearly two decades based upon what has just found it’s way online.

“Let’s Go” is the opening track on the forthcoming Def Leppard album and is a choice way of introducing the record because it embodies the group’s distinctive ‘Hysteria’ approach. From the bold group vocal melodies to the track’s crunching rhythm and the electronic introduction ala “Love Bites,” it’s a hard hitting blend of vintage and modern rock that ultimately plays out to Def Leppard’s favor.

“It’s a call to arms, you know?” lead vocalist Joe Elliott explained to Rolling Stone. “Rick Savage wrote 80 percent of the song. I wrote the verses, he wrote all the music and the choruses. He came in with it, and we knew it was a classic Def Leppard song. It’s that three-minute pop-rock stuff with big chunky guitars and a big chorus. And it has that swaggering, mid-tempo rhythm, like ‘Sugar,’ and ‘Rock of Ages.’

“The idea was, we wanted something familiar. I mean, when AC/DC comes back after years away, you’re not going to get ‘Bohemian Rhapsody’ from ’em, you know? And you don’t want it, either — you want ‘Back In Black,’ or something like it. For us, this is what we do. And it’s something we enjoy doing.”

The track listing for ‘Def Leppard’ features a number of like-minded titles including “Broke ‘N’ Brokenhearted,” “Energized,” “Man Enough” and “Dangerous.” The reason why the upcoming Def Leppard record is self-titled, as explained by Elliott, is because “that’s what it sounds like. It doesn’t sound like any one specific era of Def Leppard. It’s got everything.”

‘Def Leppard’ marks the rock group’s first album since 2008’s ‘Songs From the Sparkle Lounge,’ and is bound to make quite the impression upon it’s release on October 30 via earMusic.

Def Leppard, ‘Def Leppard’ Track Listing:

01. Let’s Go (5:01)
02. Dangerous (3:26)
03. Man Enough (3:54)
04. We Belong (5:06)
05. Invincible (3:46)
06. Sea Of Love (4:04)
07. Energized (3:23)
08. All Time High (4:19)
09. Battle Of My Own (2:42)
10. Broke ‘N’ Brokenhearted (3:17)
11. Forever Young (2:21)
12. Last Dance (3:09)
13. Wings Of An Angel (4:23)
14. Blind Faith (5:33)


def leppard self titled album 2015 cover artwork