Bullet for My Valentine

Bullet for My Valentine

The members of Bullet for My Valentine were determined to have new material ready to introduce to their live shows upon the launch of their ‘Summer’s Last Stand‘ tour alongside Slipknot and Lamb of Gob this July, and the band have since accomplished this goal and are currently preparing for the release of their fifth record.

Bullet for My Valentine will release ‘Venom’ on August 14 via RCA Records. As the members of Welsh heavy metal band attest, the studio sessions for ‘Venom’ were paved with the intention of introducing a more aggressive approach this time around.

“It’s pretty hard to sum up an entire record after spending so much time writing and recording it and all the blood, sweat and tears that have come with this one especially,” says frontman Matt Tuck.

“It wasn’t easy revisiting some very dark places to come up with lyrical content for this one, but once I knew where it was heading and I was comfortable with letting certain things out – all hell broke loose.

“It’s easily the most aggressive record we’ve ever done and lyrically it will no doubt touch a nerve with a lot of people that listen to it. I cannot express enough how proud I am of it, and can’t wait for everyone out there to hear it too. We’ve reinvented who we are and are ready to take on the world once more.”

Of course, having producers Carl Bown and Colin Richardson (Slipknot, Machine Head, Trivium) actively involved with the making of the new Bullet for My Valentine album helped direct the band in the direction they were heading towards, as we find on their new thrash metal anthem “No Way Out.”

“To write this track I had to put myself into a very dark place, a place I hadn’t been to for a while mentally because of how my life is now, compared to what it was before the band exploded,” Tuck adds.

“It is one of, if not the heaviest tracks we’ve ever recorded musically and lyrically. I’ve lived with it for a while now but still every time I hear it, it gives me chills. Hold on tight it’s a hell of a ride.”

As the band prepares for their forthcoming headlining run with support from Motionless in White as well as their tour with Slipknot and Lamb of God, Bullet for My Valentine have also announced the addition of bassist and backup vocalist Jamie Mathias into the lineup. Mathias will stand as the replacement for longtime member Jason James, who left the band earlier this year.

Bullet for My Valentine, ‘Venom’ Track Listing

01. V
02. No Way Out
03. Army of Noise
04. Worthless
05. You Want a Battle? (Here’s a War)
06. Broken
07. Venom
08. Harder the Heart
09. Skin
10. Hell or High Water
11. Pariah
12. Playing God*
13. Run for Your Life*
14. In Loving Memory*
15. Raising Hell*

*deluxe edition bonus track