Photo Credit: Frontiers

Photo Credit: Frontiers

Since the conclusion of the controversial Queensryche court case, estranged singer Geoff Tate has been employing a perplexing assortment of methods in what he has described as an attempt to distance himself from his former band.

While assuring that he doesn’t want to be associated with Queensryche, Tate has since carried over the majority of his own short-lived version of the progressive metal group into a new project with the title Operation: Mindcrime, named after the same 1981 Queensryche concept album of the same name.

Furthermore, the first installment from Operation: Mindcrime will be none other than a concept album – the first of a trilogy that is centered around a concept Tate has reportedly been developing over the past several years.

Following the first preview of the band’s upcoming album last week, the complete track listing and artwork for Operation: Mindcrime’s ‘The Key’ have since been revealed, and will have the album centered around twelve tracks with such titles as “Discussions in a Smoke Filled Room” and “An Ambush of Sadness.”

“Musically, this album is quite adventurous,” says Tate. “Of course there are key elements in the music, melody and phrasings that are really identifiable, but throughout my career I’ve opened my eyes and ears to new standards and arrangements, and that’s what keeps things fresh and exciting as an artist.

“We’ve thrown out the rules for this record, and it’s been really liberating. I’m a fan of old prog, and that music didn’t stick to rules. It’s inspiring and enjoyable to be able to explore, and it’s great being in a position to write without constraints.”

The main difference dedicated listeners will find on ‘The Key’ opposed to Queensryche’s ‘Operation: Mindcrime’? Instead of asking, “Who killed Mary?”, Tate now asks, “What are the implications of changing the world?”

Operation: Mindcrime’s ‘The Key’ will be released on September 18 through Frontiers Records.

Operation: Mindcrime, ‘The Key’ Track Listing:

01. Choices
02. Burn
03. Re-Inventing the Future
04. Ready to Fly
05. Discussions in a Smoke Filled Room
06. Life or Death?
07. The Stranger
08. Hearing Voice
09. On Queue
10. An Ambush of Sadness
11. Kicking in the Door
12. The Fall


operation mindcrime the key album artwork