Photo by S. Bollmann

Motörhead‘s ‘Under Cöver’ is a new compilation of some of the band’s finest covers recorded over the length of their career, including songs spanning from 1992’s ‘March or Die’ to outtakes from their final studio record, 2015’s ‘Bad Magic.’

‘Under Cöver’ is due for release this September and notably includes a previously unreleased cover of David Bowie‘s “Heroes,” which was recorded during the ‘Bad Magic’ sessions helmed by producer Cameron Webb. Motörhead’s cover of “Heroes” was also one of the last songs the band recorded together before the death of frontman Lemmy Kilmister in December 2015.

“It’s such a great Bowie song, one of his best, and I could only see great things coming out of it from us, and so it proved to be,” says Phil Campbell, “and Lemmy ended up loving our version.” “He was very, very proud of it,” continues Mikkey Dee, “not only because it turned out so well but because it was fun! Which is what projects like this should be — fun!”

The rest of the album is full of rowdy takes on punk and hard rock anthems on the likes of “God Save The Queen” (Sex Pistols), “Cat Scratch Fever” (Ted Nugent), “Rockaway Beach” (The Ramones) and “Breaking The Law” (Judas Priest). ‘Under Cöver’ also includes Motörhead’s hard hitting cover of Metallica‘s “Whiplash,” which ultimately won the band the 2005 Grammy Award for ‘Best Metal Performance.’

“We were happy with them at the time and we’re happy with them now!” affirms Campbell on the new Motörhead release, while Dee says, “We should remember that it’s about having some fun with songs that we all loved.”

Motörhead, ‘Under Cöver’ Track Listing:

01. Breaking The Law (produced by Cameron Webb) 2008
02. God Save The Queen (produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2000
03. Heroes (produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
04. Starstruck (produced by Cameron Webb) 2014
05. Cat Scratch Fever (produced by Peter Solley) 1992
06. Jumpin’ Jack Flash (produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
07. Sympathy For The Devil (produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
08. Hellraiser (produced by Billy Sherwood) 1992
09. Rockaway Beach (mixed by Cameron Webb) 2002
10. Shoot ‘Em Down (produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
11. Whiplash (produced by Bruce Bouillet and Bob Kulick) 2005