Photo Credit: Graham Berry

Photo Credit: Graham Berry

Scream for me this August!Iron Maiden lead vocalist Bruce Dickinson‘s distinctive lyrical style will soon be on full display later this August when the band releases the first song from their anticipated new album ‘The Book of Souls.’

According to a report from Warner Music Norway, the first single from the effort is “Speed of Light” and will be released on August 14. Perhaps not coincidentally, it’s also one of only three songs on the new Iron Maiden album that clocks in at under six minutes.

Several months before the September release date for ‘The Book of Souls,’ and the forthcoming Iron Maiden effort has been capturing some strong attention just for the running times of some of it’s tracks, particularly the closing epic “Empire of the Clouds” that weighs in at over eighteen minutes.

“We approached this album in a different way to how we’ve recorded previously,” Iron Maiden bassist Steve Harris previously explained.

“A lot of the songs were actually written while we were there in the studio and we rehearsed and recorded them straight away while they were still fresh, and I think that immediacy really shows in the songs, they have almost a live feel to them, I think.”

Bruce Dickinson also adds: “We started working on the album in late summer 2014 and recorded it at Guillame Tell Studios in Paris, where we’d done the ‘Brave New World’ album back in 2000 so the studio holds special memories for all of us.

“We were delighted to discover the same magical vibe is still alive and very much kicking there! So we immediately felt at home and the ideas just started flowing.”

Iron Maiden’s ‘The Book of Souls’ is expected for release on September 4 through Parlophone Records, and upon it’s release will mark the first double album for the heavy metal group.

Iron Maiden, ‘The Book of Souls’ Track Listing:

01. If Eternity Should Fail (Dickinson) 8:28
02. Speed of Light (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:01
03. The Great Unknown (Smith/ Harris) 6:37
04. The Red and the Black (Harris) 13:33
05. When the River Runs Deep (Smith/ Harris) 5:52
06. The Book of Souls (Gers/ Harris) 10:27
07. Death or Glory (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:13
08. Shadows of the Valley (Gers/ Harris) 7:32
09. Tears of a Clown (Smith/ Harris) 4:59
10. The Man of Sorrows (Murray/ Harris) 6:28
11. Empire of the Clouds (Dickinson) 18:01